Home Programme Instructions Registration Venue Photos Sponsors

We cordially invite you to participate in the14th Bratislava Symposium on Saccharides "Glycochemistry for biology and medicine". The Symposium have been regularly organized since 1978 by theInstitute of Chemistry, Center for Glycomics, Slovak Academy of Sciences. The scientific program of the 14th BSS will cover principal aspects of recent advances in the fields as Chemistry & Synthesis of Saccharides, Glycobiology & Glycomics, Glycans & Health, Glycoconjugates & Glycomaterials and Structure & Analyses.
• We thank all participants for your scientific contributions and friendly atmosphere during the symposium !

• A list of winners of "Best Posters Award" can be found here
castle03.jpg LOCATION
The Symposium is traditionally held at the Congress Center of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in Smolenice Castle (50 km northeast fromBratislava) at the foot of Little Carpathian Mountains, the prominent wine region ofSlovakia. The accommodation is possible at the conference venue. Attractive interiors of the Castle and beautiful natural surroundings provide a special atmosphere for scientific discussions, relaxation and meeting friends.

The Bratislava Symposia on Saccharides became popular among scientists for their high scientific standard as well as for friendly informal atmosphere throughout whole symposium. The meetings also provide a unique opportunity for young scientists to present their research and themself, and to establish the first international contacts. Social program will include Welcome Reception, sightseeing tour with Gala Dinner, and Farewell Dinner.

The official language of the Symposium is English.


Bookmark 14BSS website and keep up to date. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Smolenice.
You can find us also onfacebook_logo.jpg

INQUIRIES please address to:
Tel.: +421-2-54772080

Jaroslav Katrlík

Friedrich Altmann (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna, AT)
Beyond the golden standard - N-glycan analysis with ultimate power of isomer discrimination and its application to biological questions.

Sabine L. Flitsch (The University of Manchester, UK)
Synthetic and analytical tools in glycosciences.

Stephen C. Fry (The University of Edinburgh, UK)
Boron bridging of rhamnogalacturonan-II, a pectic polysaccharide domain: trying to copy in vitro what the plant achieves in vivo.

Lokesh Joshi (National University of Ireland, Galway, IE)
Alimentary glycobiology - Implications in health and disease.

Nikolay Nifantiev (N.D. Zelinsky Institute of Organic Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, RU)
Pyranoside-into-furanoside rearrangement: new reaction in carbohydrate chemistry and its application in oligosaccharide synthesis.

Francesco Peri (University of Milano-Bicocca, IT)
Sugar-based Toll-like Receptor 4 (TLR4) modulators: biochemical and pharmaceutical studies and therapeutic perspectives.

Tomáš Bertók (Institute of Chemistry, SAS, Bratislava, SK)
Low cost, disposable, nanostructured interfaces for glycomic studies and medical diagnostics.

Vito Ferro (The University of Queensland, Brisbane, AU)
Synthesis and applications of heparan sulfate mimetics.

Katharina Paschinger (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna, AT)
Unexpected N-glycomic complexity in invertebrates

Emil Paleček (Institute of Biophysics, CAS, Brno, CZ)
Electrochemical analysis and immunoassays of chemically-modified glycans and glycoproteins.

Vojtěch Spiwok (University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague, CZ)
Towards accurate prediction of conformational equilibria of monosaccharides by molecular simulations.

Hiroaki Tateno (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Tsukuba, JP)
Glycome of Stem Cells.

Michaela Wimmerová (Masaryk University, Brno, CZ)
Host-pathogen recognition: the role of carbohydrate binding proteins.

Chunlin Xu (Åbo Akademi University, Turku/Åbo, FI)
Structural elucidation of plant cell wall polysaccharides and their derivatives by integrated enzymatic, chromatographic, and mass spectrometric approaches.

Vladimir V. Lupashin (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, US)
COG complex controls Golgi trafficking and glycosylation machineries.

Vernon Reinhold (University of New Hampshire, Durham, US)
Glycan Spatial Sequencing with Spectral Documentation, SSSD.

Marina Ciancia (University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, AR)
Occurrence of sulfated pyranosic arabinans in cell walls from green algae.

Joseph M. Hayes (University of Central Lancashire, UK)
Glycogen phosphorylase as a target for type 2 diabetes: design of glucopyranosyl derivatives as potent inhibitors acting at the catalytic site

Peter Biely (Institute of Chemistry, SAS, Bratislava, SK)
Glucuronoyl esterases enzymes with unexplored biotechnological potential